Chakra Meditation

What are Chakras?

Chakra meditation is very simple, once you have some background in the chakras. Chakras are major energy centers within the body. The word chakra means ‘wheel of light’ in Sanskrit. The exact location and information concerning each chakra varies depending on the source. For the most part, the major chakras are aligned along the spine, from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. Each of the seven energy center has unique characterisitcs.

Benefits of Using Chakra Meditation

Understanding the body’s chakra system, and utilizing chakra meditation can help identify and alleviate specific issues, including mental, physical and emtional issues. Each chakra is keyed to specific patterns of thought, emotion and behavior. As we begin to understand our own condition, we are able to bring our energies into better balance, thereby freeing ourselves from unwanted or harmful energies.

Chakra meditation can also be helpful in preparing the body and mind for experiences of higher awareness. Many metaphysical books recommend doing a chakra cleanse before engaging in any psychic endeavor, like astral travel. The reason for this is because negative thoughts, emotions and attachments lower our vibrational level, making it difficult to access higher vibrations. Also, unwanted energies may have a negative influence in our search for higher truth, instilling fear, lack of understanding, or other creating other impediments to our progress.

The Seven Major Chakras

Root Chakra

Root Chakra The first chakra is your root chakra, found at the base of the spine at the perineum (between the genitals and anus). This chakra is called the Muladhara in Sanskrit. It is your connection to the earth, as well as the center for survival. It’s color is red. This chakra is particular important for chakra meditation becuase it is the foundation for all other chakras. The root chakra is said to be the seat of Kundalini, the subtle and intelligent power of God as it manifests within a human being.

Excess in this energy may arise from feelings of fear, especially related to personal survival and lack. Consequently, this may manifest in obesity, materialistic tendencies and a reluctance to share resources.

Deficiency in this energy may result from feelings of self-deprivation and unworthiness to live. This may include health issues, lack of groundedness (flighty or spacey), frequent self-sacrifice, or underweight.

Color: Red
Feeling: Stability and groundedness
Affirmation: “I experience stability within myself and in my life. Giving and receiving are in balance.”

2nd Chakra

Swadhisthana ChakraThe second chakra is called the Svadhisthana in Sanskrit. It is the base of emotions and sexual energy found two inches below your navel. It’s associated color is orange.

Excess of this energy may be related to a lack of boundaries, excessive emotions, and other excessive behaviors including addictions and attachments, especially in regard to sex.

Deficiency may lead to an emotional disconnect, an inability to experience healthy emotions, an inability to express one’s sexuality, and inhibited sexual performance.

Color: Orange
Feeling: Emotions and sexuality
Affirmation: “I experience healthy emotions and sexual feelings.”

3rd Chakra

Solar Plexus ChakraFound at your solar plexus, your third chakra is the seat of personal will or power. It’s called Manipura in Sanskrit and it’s color is yellow.

Excess 3rd chakra energy may manifest as abusive, aggressive or dominating feelings or behaviors.

Deficiency of this energy may manifest as poor self-image, poor self-esteem, or passive behavior.

Color: Yellow
Feeling: Personal Power
Affirmation: “I stand confidently in my own power.”

4th Chakra

Heart ChakraThe 4th Chakra is found at the heart (not your physical heart, but an energetic heart located in the center of your chest). It is called Anahata in Sanskrit and it is the dwelling place of Love. It’s color is green. The heart chakra is the meeting midpoint between the 3 lower chakras and the 3 higher chakras. This space has particular significance in our chakra meditation because it is the balance point between worldly existence and the spiritual realm.

An excess of this energy may lead to feelings or behaviors of jealousy and possessiveness.

A lack of this energy may lead to isolation, or feelings of bitterness, criticism and lack of empathy.

Color: Green
Feeling: Love
Affirmation: “As I am loved by God, so I love others.”

5th Chakra

Throat ChakraCalled Visuddha in Sanskrit, the 5th chakra is located in the hollow portion of the throat. It’s associated with self-expression and speaking your truth. It’s color is blue.

An excess of energy in the throat chakra may manifest as the inability to listen or too much talking.

A lack of energy in the throat chakra may manifest as a fear of speaking or an inability to express oneself.

Color: Blue
Feeling: Clear Communication
Affirmation: “I express myself clearly and with purpose.”

6th Chakra

Third EyeAlso known as the third eye, your 6th chakra is responsible for intuition, higher knowledge and perception (expecially psychic perceptions). It’s Sanskrit name is Ajna and it’s color is Indigo.

Excess in this chakra may result in the inability to concentrate due to headaches or a feeling of heaviness in the head.

Deficiency in this chakra may result in the inability to grasp the deeper connections between life events or an inability to grasp spiritual truths.

Color: Indigo
Feeling: Intuition
Affirmation: “I perceive the Truth.”

7th Chakra

Crown ChakraThe 7th Chakra is the Sahasrara, the thousand-petaled lotus, located on the crown of the head. In this position, it is the seat of higher consciousness and represents the connection between the individual and the divine. It’s color is violet.

Excess energy in the crown chakra may result in overthinking, an inability to control mental activity, an attachment to spirituality, a disconnection from the physical realm in an effort for transcendence.

Deficient energy in the crown chakra may result in a feeling of disconnection from the divine, lack of faith, disinterest or skepticism in religion or spirituality.

Color: Violet
Feeling: Connectedness
Affirmation: “I am connected to God, and God is connected to me.”

Root Chakra

Meditation on the Chakras

Once you’ve become familiar with the location and associations with the chakras, you can begin to use this information to perform a chakra meditation.

In general, how you do this chakra meditation is not as important as your intention behind the meditation. The intention I recommenend is for the balance of the energies of the body and a cleansing of the major energy centers (chakras).

You may wish to use visualization, visual aids, feelings, or conscious thought for this meditation. The choice is up to you, and it depends on what is the easiest way for you to connect with the meditation. If you visualize easily, then use visualization. If you can’t visualize, try using the visual aids. If you work better with feelings, then use those. If you work better with affirmations and thought, then use those.

Now that you know more about the chakras, you’re ready for a guided meditation on the chakras.